Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Basic facts: 

May 28, 1975

Head Office:
Abuja, Nigeria

Member States:

Working Languages:
English, French and; Portuguese

Head of Org.:
President of Commission: James Victor Gbeho

Executive Secretariat,
6 King George V Rd,
Lagos, Nigeria

+234 1 63 68 41

+234 1 63 68 22  

The Mission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is to promote economic integration. It was founded to achieve “collective self-sufficiency” for the member states by means of economic and monetary union creating a single large trading bloc.

ECOWAS in Brief

The Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional group of fifteen countries, founded in 1975. Its mission is to promote economic integration in "all fields of economic activity, particularly industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, commerce, monetary and financial questions, social and cultural matters ....."

The Institutions of the Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) are as follows:

•The Commission
•The Community Parliament
•The Community Court OF Justice
•ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID)
The ECOWAS Commission and the ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development, more often called The Fund are its two main institutions designed to implement policies, pursue a number of programmes and carry out development projects in Member States. Such projects include intra-community road construction and telecommunications; and agricultural, energy and water resources development.