Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Basic facts: 

As SADCC: April 1, 1980
As SADC: August 17, 1992

Head Office: Gaborone, Botswana

Member States: 15

Working Languages:
English, French, Portuguese

Head of Org.:
Sec. Gen. Tomaz Salomão

SADC House,
Private Bag 0095,

+267 395 1863

+267 397 2848

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) goal is to further socio-economic cooperation and integration as well as political and security cooperation among the Southern African states.

SADC Profile

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) has been in existence since 1980, when it was formed as a loose alliance of nine majority-ruled States in Southern Africa known as the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), with the main aim of coordinating development projects in order to lessen economic dependence on the then apartheid South Africa. The founding Member States are: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

SADCC was formed in Lusaka, Zambia on April 1, 1980, following the adoption of the Lusaka Declaration - Southern Africa: Towards Economic Liberation.

The transformation of the organization from a Coordinating Conference into a Development Community (SADC) took place on August 17, 1992 in Windhoek, Namibia when the Declaration and Treaty was signed at the Summit of Heads of State and Government thereby giving the organization a legal character.

The Member States are Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe

SADC headquarters are located in Gaborone, Botswana.