Union du Maghreb Arabe (UMA) / Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)

Basic facts: 

February 1989

Head Office:
Algiers, Algeria Rabat, Morocco

Member States:

Working Languages:
Arabic and French

Head of Org.:
Secretary General Habib Ben Yahio Louisa Hanoune

73, Rue Tensift Agdal Rabat,

+212-37 68 13 71 /72 /73 /74

+212 37 68 13 77

The Union du Maghreb Arabe (UMA) / Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) is a Pan-Arab trade agreement aiming for economic and political unity in North Africa.

Union du Maghreb Arabe (UMA) / Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)

The first Conference of Maghreb Economic Ministers in Tunis in 1964 established the Conseil Permanent Cunsultatif du Maghreb (CPCM) between Algeria, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia, to coordinate and harmonize the development plans of the four countries as well as interaregional trade and relations with the EU. However, for a number of reasons, the plans never came to fruition. It was not until the late 1980s that new impetus began to bring the parties together again. The first Maghreb Summit of the five Heads of State, held at Zeralda (Algeria) in June 1988, resulted in a decision to set up the Maghreb High Commission and various specialized commissions. Finally, on February 17, 1989 in Marrakech, the Treaty establishing the AMU was signed by the Heads of State of the five countries.